Friday, March 25, 2005

Sailors Awarded

Sailors aboard USS San Francisco awarded for bringing damaged ship into port
by Ken Wetmore,
Friday, March 25, 2005

A special ceremony was held earlier today for several sailors of the USS San Francisco. Navy spokesperson Lieutenant Arwen Consaul says 65 sailors received awards for their part in ensuring the fast-attack submarine returned safely to port. Among the awardees, 20 received special recognition awards for actions above and beyond the call of duty.

In addition, a Meritorious Service Medal was awarded to Petty Officer 1st Class James H. Akin. Lt. Consaul says the recognition "is pretty much unheard of for an enlisted sailor to win the medal," noting that it must be signed off on by the President of the United States.

The 20 awardees were as follows. The term (SS) denotes those enlisted personnel who are “submarine warfare qualified” and wear the coveted dolphin designator:

Meritorious Service Medal (citations enclosed)
Lt. j.g. Craig E. Litty
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) James H. Akin

Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal
Lt. Jeff M. McDonald
Senior Chief Petty Officer (SS) Danny R. Hager
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) Christopher L. Baumhoff
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) Bryan C. Powell
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Gilbert L. Daigle
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Jeremy Y. Key
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) David J. Miller
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Scott M. Pierce
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Carnell L. Smoot

Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal
Chief Petty Officer (SS) Maximum L. Chia
Chief Petty Officer (SS) Jacob M. Elder
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Ian P. Cross
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Matthew R. Thurman

Letter of Commendation
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) Joshua D. Barrow
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) Richard T. Bolton
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) Scott C. Deranleau
Petty Officer 1st Class (SS) Benjamin J. Sidwell
Petty Officer 2nd Class (SS) Joseph D. Anderson